Are You Being Prosecuted for Indecency With a Child?

Houston Indecency with a Child Lawyer Nathaniel Pitoniak Understands Your Situation
 

 

If you or someone you know has been charged with indecency with a child, call former Harris County prosecutor Nathaniel Pitoniak for a strong legal defense at (832) 730-2697

 

Answers About Indencency With a Child in Texas, from a Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer

 
 
 
 

What is Indecency with a Child in Texas?

Indecency with a Child in Texas is a lesser charge than sexual assault, and a crime specific to victims who are minors. Indecency with a Child can include touching a child sexually whether over or under the clothing, or exposing the genitals to a child or causing the child’s genitals to be exposed for sexual gratification. For the purposes of the law, a child is any person under the age of 17.
Indecency with a Child can also include allegations related to child molestation, child pornography and prostitution. Cases are often prosecuted, and can result in convictions, based solely on the child’s testimony and without other affirmative evidence.

 
Back to Questions

 
 
 

Houston indecency with a child attorney Nathaniel Pitoniak obtained a not guilty verdict for a client facing 25 years to life in prison for a sexual offense*

 
 
 
 

What does Indecency with a Child by Contact mean?

Indecency with a Child by Contact is the most serious form of Indecency with a Child in Texas, and conviction can carry a lengthy prison sentence as well as the requirement of lifetime sex-offender registration.
In general, Texas law defines Indecency with a Child by Contact as any touching, whether or not through clothing, of the genitals, anus or breast of a child, or of any part of a child’s body by the genitals, anus or breast of the perpetrator, or causing a child to participate in any sexual act.

 
Back to Questions

 
 
 
 

What is Indecency with a Child by Exposure?

Conviction for Indecency with a Child by Exposure can carry a lengthy prison sentence as well as the requirement of sex-offender registration for up to 10 years for a first conviction.
In general according to Texas law, Indecency with a Child by Exposure occurs when a perpetrator exposes the genitals or anus to a person under the age of 17, or causes a person under 17 to expose their genitals or anus. Prosecution for Indecency with a Child by Exposure requires that the perpetrator committed the act for the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification.

 
Back to Questions

 
 
 
 

Is Indecency With a Child a Felony in Texas?
What are the Penalties for Indecency with a Child in Texas?

Indecency with a Child by Exposure is a third degree felony in Texas, and can result in a sentence of 2-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000, as well as mandatory sex-offender registration for 10 years.
Indecency with a Child by Contact is a second degree felony in Texas, and can result in a sentence of 2-20 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, and mandatory sex-offender registration for life.

 
Back to Questions

Call Houston criminal defense lawyer Nathaniel Pitoniak at (832) 730-2697 for a free case evaluation
*Past results are not a guarantee of future results. Every case is different.